Oh, Man. Ohhhhhhhhh, Man.

Well, let’s just say I’ve never had so much happen in a three month period than these last three. I went from depression to bliss depending on how the days went, discovered things about myself that I never knew before, and really used my time of angelic purgatory for self-realization and contemplation. As most of you don’t know since you don’t have Facebook stalking abilities, I am no longer in Schleswig-Holstein, but rather back in Berlin: the city that began this journey for me. It was difficult saying goodbye to everything I latched onto for the past three months, everything that I called home and tried to build something with, but after it was all said and done, it was just the right decision. You learn a lot when you have to learn to start over within your elongated time of starting over; it’s a new type of experience with new things to offer. At the end of the day, I’m here, it’s new, life is good, and this exchange year does not feel dampered or lessened for any reason just because of this happening.

So, Berlin. Capitol. International. Metropolitan. Amazing.  I’ve been here just over a month and my life has been so surreal to the point where sometimes I question if all of this is real. The fact that it’s a normal procedure to ride the S-Bahn by the remains of the Berlin Wall on the way home from a party at 3 AM literally blows my mind. The history and feeling of this city is so effervescent and imaginative. The people here are definitely different, too. I live in East Berlin and the general vibe of the adults here is a little bit contrasting to that of the people living in West Berlin, but that’s understandable with everything that has happened here; the DDR lives on through the memories of the people. Berlin is showing me how a new piece of life can be found in every nook and cranny. Berlin, Berlin. These next 7 months will be……..bliss.

It’s now 3:30 AM so I need to sleep. More about Christmas and stuff later. With all of this time on my hands for break, I’ll catch up more when I have more energy. Sleep well, world.

3 thoughts on “Oh, Man. Ohhhhhhhhh, Man.

  1. Hi,
    I’m an exchange student in denmark right now and german. However I found your videos in youtube and I just think they’re really good 🙂 I wish you a good time in germany 🙂

  2. I’m really sorry for asking this, but I’m on exchange with YFU/CBYX right now and I got really curious about this. Why did you change host families? I don’t want super personal details, but I was just wondering if there was some kind of “incident” or something changed in their lives, or if you didn’t feel “right” with your first family (what ever that means). Again, I’m really sorry for asking because you probably don’t really like thinking about it.
    Also, I’m having a bit of trouble bonding with my own host family right now. I don’t want to force the relationship, but I feel like I’m wasting time to building one by not connecting with them on every level. Yeah, I’m not exactly sure what’s quite wrong or what I’m trying to get across here, but if you have any advice, IT IS NEEDED! I also realize that you probably don’t even use the email connected to this page anymore so you probably won’t get this, but oh well. Thanks in advance if you do get this and decide to reply. ~Joanna
    Check out my blog, too, if you like! http://w0rldplus.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

